Tattnall County High School FBLA Attends Perry & Athens Fall Leadership Conferences

The 2022 Fall Leadership Conference (FLC) looked different for Tattnall County High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) this year. Our members were fortunate to attend two different conferences. The competition season started out with a one-day conference in Perry held on November, 9 at the Georgia National Fairgrounds & Agricenter. TCHS had 11 young ladies participating in four competitions. The day consisted of a dynamic general session, informative leadership training workshops, the opportunity to participate in one of the world’s largest Monopoly Tournaments, and many other activities. Each of the 11 young ladies were first time FLC participants. We enjoyed dinner at Olive Garden and a trip to Buc-ee’s for some midnight snacks to get us through our practice sessions. The girls were well prepared and put many hours of work into their projects. Their hard work was worth the rewards. Madison Page, Molly Thompson, and Jency Thompson competed in Intro to Social Media. They received first place and qualified for the State Leadership Conference (SLC) to be held March 9-12 in Atlanta. Krishna Patel and Railey Sheffield received second place and a trip to SLC in the Broadcast Journalism competition. Our second team of Broadcast Journalism team comprised of Saige Collins, DeLaney DeHart, and Audrey Graham received third place. Our final team of competitors in the Perry FLC brought home a fourth-place win for Intro to Social Media. This team consisted of Zanay Foreman, Mikayla Howell, and Joanna Skeens. Our girls did compete against each other. They worked so hard and we were super proud of the work ethic and team work they exhibited throughout the entire process.

The 2022 overnight Two-Day Fall Leadership Conference was held November 16-17 in Athens at the beautiful Classic Center. It also consisted of a dynamic general session, informative leadership training workshops, the always thrilling Battle of the Chapters, the opportunity to participate in one of the world’s largest Monopoly Tournaments, and many other activities. The overnight portion was only for high school chapters. TCHS took a mixture of competitors that worked on their projects to prepare for some stiff competition. The following were fortunate enough to qualify for SLC in March: Mason Garcia competed in Client Service and was awarded second place; Wilton DeLoach, Jackson McGlashan, and Aubrey Poole received second place in Business Ethics; Taylor Blitch, Victoria Tucker, and Brooklyn Waters received fifth place in Social Media Strategies. The following teams worked hard but did not qualify for state: Torrance Vega and Nikole McFarlane received eighth place in Social Media Strategies; Peyton Daus, Stephen Jordan, and Trenton Brown received ninth place in Business Ethics; and Anna DeLoach received seventh place in Impromptu Speaking. Other members participating in testing and Battle of the Chapters were: Lanie Yancey, Hannah Greger, Kinsley Hutcheson, Layla James, Braden Waters, and Will Daus.

A special thanks to Mr. Jimmie Kirkland and Mrs. Wilda Kirkland for being amazing bus drivers and chaperones for both trips. Mrs. Sabrina Page, WBL Coordinator, and Mrs. Tracy Waters, FBLA Adviser accompanied the members to Perry. Dr. Dina DeLoach, CTAE Director, Mrs. Casandra Hardy, FBLA Adviser and Mrs. Tracy Waters, FBLA Adviser enjoyed the trip to Athens with the members. These events would not be possible without the hard work from the members, support from parents, teachers, and administrators. It definitely takes a village.

Members are anticipating the Region Leadership Conference in Brunswick on January 30 to get results from other competitions that will take place that day. We hope to have many others earn a spot on the bus to Atlanta in March.


Two pictures


L to R:

Lanie Yancey, Co-President; Mason Garcia, Co-President

Aubrey Poole, Kinsley Hutcheson, Hannah Greger, Torrance Vega, Victoria Tucker, Brooklyn Waters

Layla James, Anna DeLoach, Nikole McFarlane, Taylor Blitch

Jackson McGlashan, Braden Waters, Peyton Daus, Wilton DeLoach, Stephen Jordan, Trenton Brown, William Daus



L to R: Railey Sheffield, Krishna Patel, Audrey Graham, DeLaney DeHart, Molly Thompson, Madison Page, Saige Collins, Zanay Foreman, Jency Thompson, Joanna Skeens, Mikayla Howell

Upload successful!